Texas State University Logo

Online Resources

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Archived Announcements

Expand or Collapse all.

WSJ Cites Texas State Student Authored Study on HPV Awareness

Texas State graduate, Dr. Megan Trad, conducted a study of HPV awareness among undergrads at the university.  Co-authored with Dr. Robert Reardon, the article was recently published in Radiologic Technology. Due to a press release by the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, it has been cited in a WSJ piece entitled "Study Shows Students Aren't Aware Condoms Don't Provide Full Protection From HPV."

APCE Graduate Francik Awarded Outstanding Graduate Student Award

Wendy Francik, a spring graduate of the APCE Program, received the prestigious Outstanding Graduate Student Research Award for 2013 at the Adult Education Research Conference for her dissertation research, THE NATURE OF SELF-DIRECTED LEARNING AND TRANSFORMATIONAL LEARNING IN SELF-MANAGING BIPOLAR DISORDER TO STAY WELL. This is the highest award given to a doctoral student in our field in this country.

Jovita Ross-Gordon chaired her committee, and Ann Brooks, Eric Schmidt, and Steve Furney served on her committee.

2012 Early Career Award

Dr. Joellen Coryell was presented with the 2012 Early Career Award from the Commission of Professors of Adult Education. This is a very prestigious award in the field of Adult Education, bestowed by the American Association of Adult and Continuing Education. Dr. Coryell received the award at the recent national conference in Las Vegas.  Dr. Coryell was recently named as one of the Top 25 Texas Education Professors by Online Schools in Texas.

Book Signing

Drs. Cindy Plotts and Jon Lasser at their book signing at the National Association for School Psychology. Congratulations to them on their new textbook for school psychologists!

First Seminar Given by Institute for Play Therapy

The first seminar given by the Institute for Play Therapy was held, Friday, February 8th. The interactive seminar was given by Dr. Linda Homeyer and Dr. Elizabeth Kjellstrand.
See the IPT website for more details

Outstanding Pre-Tenure Counselor Educator Award for Dr. Kathy Ybañez-Llorente


  Dr. Heather Trepal, SACES President-Elect, Dr. Kathy Ybañez-Llorente, and Dr. Anneliese Singh, SACES President 
Dr. Heather Trepal, SACES President-Elect,
Dr. Kathy Ybañez-Llorente, and
Dr. Anneliese Singh, SACES President

September 28, 2012

Dr. Kathy Ybañez-Llorente was recently awarded the SACES 2012 Outstanding Pre-tenured Counselor Educator Award at the 2012 Southern Association for Counselor Education and Supervision Conference held in Savannah, Georgia in September. The SACES Outstanding Pre-tenured Counselor Educator Award acknowledges individual faculty members who are showing exceptional progress in the early stages of their academic career. The award is based on activities in all areas of an academic position: research, teaching, and service. Dr. Ybañez-Llorente was found to have a productive track record of research and publications and a developed research agenda that promises to develop our knowledge of counseling. The nomination highlighted Dr. Ybañez-Llorente's active involvement in service to the counseling profession across numerous leadership positions at the national and state levels. Because SACES has a separate Teaching award, the evaluation of teaching is not as critical in this award, but Dr. Ybañez-Llorente's nomination also demonstrated a solid performance of teaching counseling courses.


Texas State Rising Stars: On a whim, risk-taker packs up, moves out West

 Dr. John Garcia
Dr. John Garcia, Ed.D., LPC-S director of Counseling Practicum Clinic,
director of Career Exploration Services highlighted in the Round Rock Leader
for his work at the Round Rock Campus.
    Read more


Dr. Michael O’Malley, Associate Professor "Fulbright Scholar in Chile"

Dr. Michael O’MalleyDr. Michael O’Malley, Associate Professor, has received a Fulbright US Scholar Award for lecturing/research in Chile from August 2012 – January 2013. The project title is “School Improvement through Quality Educational Leadership Preparation/Understanding the Role of School Administrators in Achieving Inglés Abre Puertas Goals."  Read more

Texas State University designated National Approved Center of Play Therapy Education

 CPT - TXSTATE(Clovis, CA) The Professional Counseling Program at Texas State University San Marcos has earned designation as an Approved Center of Play Therapy Education by the Association for Play Therapy (APT), according to its CEO, Bill Burns, CAE.
As an Approved Center of Play Therapy Education (Center) the Professional Counseling Program will offer play therapy graduate and supervisor training courses in addition to generating publications and presentations to benefit students, faculty, and practitioners. These programs may be applied to satisfy state licensing requirements and to earn the Registered Play Therapist (RPT) and Supervisor (RPT-S) credentials conferred by APT.

Texas State University voted to full membership in the University Council for Educational Administration

"UCEA is a consortium of higher education institutions committed to advancing the preparation and practice of educational leaders for the benefit of schools and children." UCEA promotes, sponsors, and disseminates research on the essential problems of schooling and leadership; improves the preparation and professional development of educational leaders and professions; and positively influences local, state, and national education policy. The organization noted Texas State's EDCL/SI programs for their promotion of educational equity and social justice