Texas State University Logo

Learn More

Web Services

Join the Conversation

adjust type sizemake font smallermake font largerreset font size

Piper Professors

Each year, the Minnie Stevens Piper Foundation honors faculty members in Texas colleges and universities for their outstanding achievement in teaching at the collegiate level.

Piper Foundation honorees are well rounded, outgoing teachers who are devoted to their profession and have made a special impact on their students and the community.

Texas State University is proud to have had 20 faculty members chosen as Piper Professors. Only one other university has had more.

Year Professor Discipline
2013 Kenneth H. Margerison
2012 Steven Furney
Health and Human Performance
2010 Max Warshauer
2008 Brock Brown
2007 James Housefield Art History
2006 Christopher Frost Psychology
2005 Byron Dale Augustin Geography
2004 James David Bell Business
2003 Paul Nathan Cohen English
2002 Nancy Feyl Chavkin Social Work
2001 Michael John Hennessy English
1993 Barbara Hatcher Curriculum and Instruction
1988 Beverly Chiodo Computer Information Systems and Administrative Sciences
1982 Robert Walts English
1979 Henrietta Avent Health and Physical Education
1976 Clarence Schultz Sociology
1975 Dan Farlow Political Science
1970 Thomas Brasher English
1968 Robert Galvan Modern Languages
1962 Emmie Craddock History